Gonzaga Preparatory School

Skip to main content

Academic Awards

Please join us in celebrating the successes of our Gonzaga Prep students. 
Step through the slides below for photos of the students who have been honored at the 2023 Academic Awards Celebration. The full list of awards and recipients follows below the photo slideshow. 
The continued efforts and accomplishments of our students bring hope to our community. 
Congratulations to the award winners!  

Leadership Awards 

Senior Class: Kayna Doolittle and Griffin Satterfield

Junior Class: Kaitlin Kelly and Abigail Stewart 

Sophomore Class: Ian Round and Emma Sandberg

Freshman Class: Taryn Barbieri and Kelton Doolittle

Justin Ables Memorial Award (sophomore): Claire Huhmann

Department Awards

Outstanding Senior Science Student: Peyton Dixon and Andrew Happy

Outstanding Junior Science Student: Colby Kelly and Abi Stewart 

Barthlemess Mathematics Student: Jamie Wright

Outstanding English Student: Christian Schueller

Outstanding World Language Students:

French: Caroline Saint James

Spanish: Aidyn Whitehead

Latin : Christian Schueller

Outstanding Physical Education Student: Morgan Cervantes and Bo Strahl        

Lantry-Sherman Award for Excellence in U.S. History: Christian Preti

Nicholas Jabara Junior Theology Leadership Award: Fiona Hills and Johnny Hoffman

Fine Arts Department Awards

Chris Babcock Memorial Debate Award: Sophia McFarland

National School Choral Award: Lucas Manfred

John Philip Sousa Band Award: Israel Barrientos

National School Orchestra Award: Thomas Sine

Luigian Award: Jacob Thompson

Drama Spotlight Award: Makalia LeBret

Visual Art Award: Olivia Wehr

Frankie White Visual Art Scholarship: Mylah Brelia

Athletics, Service, and Academic Awards

GSL Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Luke Decker and Lucy Lynn

Bobby Etten Award: Luke Decker and Izabella Yim

Dave Machtolf Award: Cavan McKiernan

Denise Schlepp Leadership in Women’s Athletics Award: Rhyan Madden

Joe Keogh Award: Timothy McCann

U.S. Naval Academy Appointment: Griffin Satterfield

President's Volunteer Service Award: Ava Diggs, Ella Niedermeyer, Will Kladar

Fr. Zehnder Volunteer Award: Gabi Benson, Amanda Do, Andrew Happy

Fr. Watrin Award: Ella Cross

Commended Tutors

Daniel Chilimidos, Joel Moore, Gracyn Scott

Academic Awards

Catholic Community Scholarship: Molly Manfred and Jessie Meliton-Viveros

Petersen Scholarship: Kathryn Malek, Caleb Nordhagen, Izabella Yim

Salutatorians for the Class of 2023

Yeabsera Afework

Peyton Dixon, Kayna Doolittle

Lucy Gross

Andrew Happy

Aidyn Whitehead

Valedictorians for the Class of 2023

Luke Decker

Ryan Dougherty

David Nguyen

Christian Schueller